Friendship Friday · Uncategorized

Friendship Friday: Angelica

It’s finally Friday here at Teaspoon of Sprinkles, and that means we get to celebrate one of my favorite things: Friendship! Each Friday, I’ll introduce you to another one of my favorite humans by sharing their answers to four of the most insightful questions.

This week, I want to start by introducing you to my very best friend: Angelica. You’ll be hearing a lot about her from here on out, because we are essentially together all day every day. To the world we are known as A&A, and we wouldn’t have it any other way. A little history: We met by the grace of God on the first night of Young Life club at Texas State University on September 7, 2015. A year later, we are both Young Life Leaders serving on the college team. This is definitely a friendship perfectly crafted by the Lord, and we are the most grateful for His purpose and intentionality in this friendship.

So, Meet my other half!

IMG_1165
If you’re looking for us, check the river first

What was your first impression of Ally?

“When I first met Ally, I was struggling with extreme social anxiety. I didn’t know anyone, and Ally was literally the first person I met at Texas State. I was more focused on trying to keep a casual conversation going, rather than focusing on Ally and our potential friendship. After the awkward getting to know you phase, I realized that Ally was really nice and fun to be around and that this friendship would go somewhere. So I decided to go have dinner with her the night we met, even though I really just wanted to go hide in my dorm. I don’t really know when it went from awkward to fun, but she’s a cool person and really nice and a really good friend.”

What’s your favorite Friendship quirk?

“We have so many! I think my favorite friendship quirk is our tortellini dance party nights. Basically last year we used to make tortellini while staying by ourselves at our Young Life leader’s house, and depending on our mood we would either watch a movie or have a dance party. Our music choices ranged from pop to Jesus music, but almost always we ended up cleaning the entire apartment while dancing at 1 AM. (You’re welcome, YL leader)”

What do you value most in this friendship?

“Ally. Just Kidding. I mean, there isn’t really one specific thing because I value so much. I value how open our friendship is, and how we tell each other everything. I value Ally’s listening skills, and all of the advice that we give each other. I value how quick we are to be there for each other. I value our crazy Target and Hobby Lobby trips. All of the valuable things are rushing through my head! I value how we can go from totally funny to totally serious in a matter of seconds, and tell each other anything without getting hurt, and I value our honesty.”

What is your favorite friendship memory?

“Favorite memory? So many! I think my favorite friendship memory was that one crazy night we decided to go hike in the woods behind our YL leader’s apartment at 10 PM. I think the one thing that pulled us into the woods that late was Jesus- He was calling us that night. So, we packed Ally’s bag with our bibles and headed for the trail. We had been a few times before, but this time we wanted to go to this pond in the middle of a clearing where you could see the stars so vividly. It was just so calm and serene. I remember walking along the trail and being on edge, because, you know, it’s the woods at 10 PM- but as soon as we got to the pond and opened our bibles, all of the fear was gone. It was awesome to be in that moment with Ally and just experience Jesus together after a hard day.”IMG_0791

With all the love,

A&A

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Friendship Friday: Angelica

Leave a Reply

