Malibu · Service Dog · story time · Uncategorized

Malibu Miracles

By now I’m sure that you’ve met my dog, Malibu. She’s a rescued St Bernard/Great Pyrenees who is in training to be my service dog for CRPS, Anxiety, Panic, and more. She’s my best friend and I probably couldn’t love her more if I tried.

In the month that I’ve had Mali, she’s attracted a lot of attention. People always want to stop and ask about her, or compliment her behavior or appearance (friendly reminder: do not pet my dog!!!). Last week we had our first (actually, 2!) Malibu Miracle. Here’s how it went:

I was on campus, headed to class with Mali by my side. I noticed this girl running up to me and I figured she was just a dog lover who wanted to pet her. Wow, I was wrong.

This sweet girl asked if my dog’s name was Malibu. Wait… how did she know that? I said yes, and she was nearly jumping out of her skin when she told me that she had adopted Malibu’s brother! We talked for a while and found out that they live right down the street from me, and we knew we had to reunite them.

We were both told at the shelter that the two pups were very attached to each other. They were best friends, and when Aragon (now Winston) was adopted without her, Malibu became very depressed and lonely. Reuniting them sounded like the most exciting possibility.

So, this past Monday night, Winston and his sweet owners came over to play. What started as an overwhelmingly sweet reunion turned into a mellow hang out between two siblings. I couldn’t help but miss my own siblings the entire time.

I’ll leave you today with a few sweet moments captured from that special night:

FullSizeRender 2
Look how much bigger he is than her!
FullSizeRender 3
Like brother, like sister. They have all the same behaviors!
FullSizeRender
Even their tails wag in sync
IMG_4772
New friend Jasper came to play and Big Brother was VERY protective of Little Sister

With all the love,

A

2 thoughts on “Malibu Miracles

Leave a Reply

