Uncategorized

A review: Sharing Jesus Without Freaking Out

Recently, I had the opportunity to partner with Lifeway Christian books to review Alvin Reid’s new book “Sharing Jesus (Without Freaking Out): Evangelism The Way you Were Born to do it). Full disclosure: I was given this book for free in return for an honest review: so here it is.

9781433643903

Lets start on the personal side: I grew up in a pretty traditional Presbyterian church. “Evangelism” was a word that most people ran from. It was intimidating and not something most people seemed willing to be a part of. As expected, that understanding of Evangelism was passed down to me.

It wasn’t until recently that I found a new understanding of evangelism in the perspective of sharing Jesus openly and honestly. I came to college and joined a student ministry for a few years. In a leadership role, it seemed my biggest responsibility was to share Jesus. While it’s something I love, it’s not necessarily easy or something that I am good at.

Choosing to read this book changed that. I’m no longer in ministry, but as a believer I’m always expected to share Jesus and I love to be ready for that conversation at the drop of a hat. This book is quite straightforward, and makes evangelism seem like something even the most quiet and introverted people could do. From understanding the basic truths of the Gospel and making them applicable to society as a whole, to approaching complete strangers with truth the same way you would a friend. Everything seems so much more attainable and easy to process.

If you’d like to read this book yourself, you can find it on the Lifeway website (It’s only $7 at 60% off right now!) or at your local book retailer. I’d give it a solid 4 out of 5 stars, especially if you’re looking for a quick read to boost your confidence.

With all the love,

A

 

2 thoughts on “A review: Sharing Jesus Without Freaking Out

Leave a comment